Z2 Comics previews Yoga Town from the Superstate graphic novel

by Charles LePage

feaa9ca1-4bc0-43fa-b952-9bbc6805d425-198x300 Z2 Comics previews Yoga Town from the Superstate graphic novelThe Superstate graphic novel and soundtrack will feature 15 songs and 15 stories.

The press release follows:

Media Release — Superstate is a new graphic novel and accompanying original soundtrack, out 27th August 2021, in association with Z2 Comics. The high-concept world of Superstate encompasses the pairing of an original album soundtrack of 15 new songs from Graham Coxon, with a graphic novel of 15 stories featuring the work of 15 artists, and writers Alex Paknadel and Helen Mullane, with album and book cover artwork by Coxon himself. Experience the unique audio-visual landscape of Superstate with first story ‘Yoga Town’ here.

Superstate sees Graham Coxon working with co-writers Alex Paknadel (GIGA, Friendo, Turncoat) and Helen Mullane (Nicnevin and the Bloody Queen) and 15 graphic artists including Christian Dibari, Marie Llovet and Ryan Kelly as well as musicians Rahel Debebe-Dessalegne, Sharlene Hector, Valentina Pappalardo and Vula to realize this reading and listening experience unlike any other. Coxon’s vision is brought to the page by an all-star co-operative of writers and artists who devised stories and visuals inspired by the original concept from Coxon. The creative process has been led by new music written and recorded by Coxon exclusively for Superstate. The result is a visual compendium that features 15 different graphic stories, each accompanied by its own individual soundtrack.

According to Coxon, Superstate is about a dystopian world where angels and villains alike promise the people paradise, disenchanted children live feral in vast rubbish dumps and the masses are pacified by a drugged out, government-mandated digital dreamscapes and robot partners while they wait to perish on this dying planet. It seems all hope is gone but there might be one place in the universe where the most desperate can escape… heaven.

Josh Frankel, CEO, Z2 Comics said – “The reason I got into comics was first and foremost to create innovative, amazing art. Superstate is just that, a true fusion of comics and music. It’s rare where we have a project where the art and music are so linked. Superstate is a true hybrid with each song and story intertwining to reveal glimpses of a larger truth. The fact that it comes from Graham Coxon makes it that much more special: as an odd duck American who is a massive fan of his, it was a true treat to get to work with Graham to help make his vision come to life in the truly transcendent Superstate.”

Superstate is written by Graham Coxon, Alex Paknadel and Helen Mullane.

The tracklisting and artist credits for Superstate is, as follows:

1. Yoga Town (Artist: Kendall Goode)
2. Uncle Sam (Artist: Eryk Donovan)
3. It’s All In Your Mind (Artist: Andrade Estevez)
4. Only Takes A Stranger (Artist: Anna Readman)
5. L.I.L.Y. (Artists: Luisa Russo)
6. Bullets (Artist: Goran Gligovic)
7. I Don’t Wanna Wait For You (Artist: Ryan Kelly)
8. The Astral Light (Artist: Soo Lee)
9. Heaven (Buy a Ticket) (Artist: Koren Shadmi)
10. The Ball of Light (Artist: Vasilis Lolos)
11. Tommy Gun (Artist: Minerva Fox)
12. Goodbye Universe (Artist: Kim Canales)
13. Butterfly (Artist: Dave Chisholm)
14. We Remain (Artist: Ivan Stojkovic)
15. Listen (Artist: Taylan Kurtulus)

As well as a standalone digital release, the Superstate soundtrack will be available on vinyl bundled with the book. A deluxe bundle that includes the soundtrack, a hardback copy of the book with exclusive slipcase and 3 art prints, retails at £73.17 (US$99.99). A limited super deluxe bundle will also include a copy of the book signed by Graham, retailing at £146.34 (US$199.99). In addition, the Superstate book will be available to purchase separately in hardback £21.94 (US$29.99)) and paperback £14.63 (US$19.99).

Pre order the album here


“Superstate is… A story of escape… in a society where war rages between the forces of negativity and positivity, encouragement and discouragement…

Where only the struggle from oppression, chaos and brutality leads to the fragile road to freedom.

A road that burns its way through the far reaches of space to a planet called… heaven”
–Graham Coxon

About Graham Coxon:
Graham Coxon is a musician, composer, singer-songwriter and artist. Best known as the guitarist in Blur, Graham also played saxophone and drums on many Blur tracks. He composed 1997’s ‘You’re So Great’ and sang vocals and composed much of the band’s 1999 hit single ‘Coffee & TV’. Blur’s latest release, the 2015 album ‘The Magic Whip’, which Graham produced alongside Stephen Street, debuted at No 1 in the UK album chart.

Graham has released eight solo albums: ‘The Sky is Too High’ (1998), ‘The Golden D’ (2000), ‘Crow Sit On Blood Tree’ (2001), ‘The Kiss Of Morning”‘ (2002), ‘Happiness In Magazines’ (2004), ‘Love Travels At Illegal Speeds’ (2006) ‘The Spinning Top’ (2009) and ‘A+E; (2012). The Original Songs and Score albums to The End of the F***ing World Seasons 1 and Season 2 were released to widespread critical acclaim in 2018 and 2019 respectively. And 2020 saw the release of ‘Bloodwitch’, Graham’s companion album to Netflix’s coming of age series ‘I Am Not Okay With This’.

About Helen Mullane:
Helen Mullane’s career began in film distribution, managing the release of major films for the likes of Studio Canal and EOne. Later she produced the feature documentary FUTURESHOCK! THE STORY OF 2000AD and various shorts such as the multi-award-winning NASTY. Helen wrote the widely acclaimed graphic novel Nicnevin and the Bloody Queen, the upcoming Paintedand more to be announced soon. Helen lives in Sweden where she spins fantastical yarns & trains sled dogs across miles of frozen tundra. She is the subject of an audio documentary, The Long Run on RTE’s Doc on One about her attempt to conquer Norway’s epic Femundlopet sled dog race.

About Alex Paknadel:
Alex Paknadel is a writer and academic from London, England. His first comics work, the dark sci-fi thriller ARCADIA from Boom! Studios, met with critical acclaim and led to additional projects with a range of publishers including Marvel Entertainment, Vault Comics, Valiant Entertainment, Lion Forge, and Titan Comics. He is also a founding member of White Noise Studio alongside fellow writers Dan Watters, Ram V, and Ryan O’Sullivan.

About Z2 Comics:
Z2 Comics is the premier destination for official music-related graphic novels, created in partnership with top-tier artists, musicians, directors and pop-culture icons. Distributed globally via Simon & Schuster, Z2 has collaborated with such diverse artists as Blondie, Elvis Presley, Freddie Mercury, Gorillaz, Machine Gun Kelly, Sublime,Yungblud, Cypress Hill, Babymetal, Major Lazer, Rico Nasty and Alter Bridge as well as debut comic works by Grammy-nominated artists Sturgill Simpson, Poppy and Anthrax. Additionally, the company has tapped top talent for the official graphic biographies of such pop-culture legends as The Grateful Dead, Beethoven and Charlie “Bird” Parker. In 2021, Z2 will publish graphic novel tie-ins to essential albums by The Doors, Ronnie James Dio, King Diamond, All Time Low with many more to be announced in the coming months.

61ad226a-9bd0-b0c4-65a1-b175da57891f Z2 Comics previews Yoga Town from the Superstate graphic novel

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: