NBM celebrates 40th anniversary with new logo and updated website

by Jeff

NBM_Complete_Logo NBM celebrates 40th anniversary with new logo and updated websiteMedia Release — For the past forty years, NBM Publishing, America’s first publisher of graphic novels, has been the home of high quality comics; from pioneering the translation and release of foreign work such as by Enki Bilal and Hugo Pratt, to being the first collecting classic comic strips such as Terry & The Pirates in beautiful hardcovers, to becoming the home for some of the best US cartoonists being published today.

The publisher celebrates it’s 40th anniversary with a number of exciting new announcements. ??For the first time in decades, NBM Publishing now has a new logo, and branding, as NBM Graphic Novels. In addition, a new website has launched, improving on functionality and navigation.

Also, the ComicsLit imprint has been dissolved, folding into the NBM brand. The adult graphic novel imprint, Eurotica, will remain independent and separate.

NBM Publisher and founder Terry Nantier discussed the new changes, “After many milestones over these decades helping to open up the general bookstore trade and people’s perception of what comics can be, here we are at 40 years of operation still bringing out some of the best European and US comics you can find. I’m very proud of NBM’s great image and I figure it’s time and a great occasion to freshen up! The former NBM logo, with a design akin to comics panels, has served valiantly for decades but nothing lasts forever and it’s time for a cleaner, lighter, more modern look. ComicsLit also was an imprint we needed to launch over 15 years ago to distinguish our fiction line, but that’s much of what NBM stands for anyway today. We’re keeping things simple under one name and emphasizing our core mission all these years where comic books from us have been rare: publishing great graphic novels.”

As to the site, Nantier added, “we’re also taking the occasion to reorganize our site to better reflect the different categories of graphic novels we’ve been publishing, including our growing non-fiction category.”

This year, NBM will release work from such talented artists and writers as Lewis Trondheim, Joann Sfar, David Prudhomme, Jirô Taniguchi, Sean Michael Wilson & Michiru Morikawa, Annie Goetzinger & Rodolphe, Stanislas, Nicolas Keramidas, A. Dan, and Maximilien Le Roy, joining other recent creators as Rick Geary, P. Craig Russell, Dara Naraghi, Brent Bowman, Margreet de Heer, Kerascoet, Etienne Davodeau, Patrick Atangan, Jim Benton, Ted Rall, and Julian Voloj.

These join such luminaries that have been in the NBM catalog in the past such as Will Eisner, Dave McKean, Scott Hampton, Bryan Talbot, Harlan Ellison, Joe Haldeman, Miguelanxo Prado, Vittorio Giardino, Milo Manara and Guido Crepax.

To see more on NBM’s history of milestones and leading artists, visit its ‘about’ page.

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: