Live From SDCC ’09: The Eisners!

by Jeff

by Elisabeth@TFAW

comiccon Live From SDCC '09: The Eisners!The Winners, Live From San Diego Comic-Con!

Hey guys! I went to the Eisners tonight, so you didn’t have to–ha! I was originally planning to Twitter from the hotel, but there was no cell reception at the Hilton Bayfront. The experience was . . . interesting. And long. But I saw a lot of my favorites, and some of my picks were winners, including Tiny Titans, Dave Stewart, and Bill Willingham! Read on:

  • Best Short Story: “Murder He Wrote,” by Ian Boothby, Nina Matsumoto, and Andrew Pepoy, in The Simpsons’ Treehouse of Horror #14 (Bongo)
  • Best Continuing Series: All Star Superman by Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely (DC)
  • Best Limited Series: Hellboy: The Crooked Man, by Mike Mignola and Richard Corben (Dark Horse)
  • Best New Series: Invincible Iron Man, by Matt Fraction and Salvador Larocca (Marvel)
  • Best Publication for Kids: Tiny Titans, by Art Baltazar and Franco (DC)
  • Best Publication for Teens/Tweens: Coraline, by Neil Gaiman, adapted by P. Craig Russell (HarperCollins Children’s Books)
  • Best Humor Publication: Herbie Archives, by “Shane O’Shea” (Richard E. Hughes) and Ogden Whitney (Dark Horse)
  • Best Anthology: Comic Book Tattoo: Narrative Art Inspired by the Lyrics and Music of Tori Amos, edited by Rantz Hoseley (Image)
  • Best Webcomic: Finder, by Carla Speed McNeil,
  • Best Reality-Based Work: What It Is, by Lynda Barry (Drawn & Quarterly)
  • Best Graphic Album—New: Swallow Me Whole, by Nate Powell (Top Shelf)
  • Best Graphic Album—Reprint: Hellboy Library Edition, vols. 1 and 2, by Mike Mignola (Dark Horse)
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips: Little Nemo in Slumberland, Many More Splendid Sundays, by Winsor McCay (Sunday Press Books)
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books: Creepy Archives, by various (Dark Horse)
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material: The Last Musketeer, by Jason (Fantagraphics)
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Japan: Dororo, by Osamu Tezuka (Vertical)
  • Best Writer: Bill Willingham, Fables, House of Mystery (Vertigo/DC)
  • Best Writer/Artist: Chris Ware, Acme Novelty Library (Acme)
  • Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: Guy Davis, BPRD (Dark Horse)
  • Best Painter/Multimedia Artist: Jill Thompson, Magic Trixie, Magic Trixie Sleeps Over (HarperCollins Children’s Books)
  • Best Cover Artist: James Jean, Fables (Vertigo/DC); The Umbrella Academy (Dark Horse)
  • Best Coloring: Dave Stewart, Abe Sapien: The Drowning, BPRD, The Goon, Hellboy, Solomon Kane, The Umbrella Academy (Dark Horse); Body Bags (Image); Captain America: White (Marvel)
  • Best Lettering: Chris Ware, Acme Novelty Library #19 (Acme)
  • Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: Comic Book Resources, produced by Jonah Weiland (
  • Best Comics-Related Book: Kirby: King of Comics, by Mark Evanier (Abrams)
  • Best Publication Design: Hellboy Library Editions, designed by Cary Grazzini and Mike Mignola (Dark Horse)
  • Hall of Fame: Judges’ choices: Harold Gray, Graham Ingels; Voters’ choices: Matt Baker, Reed Crandall, Russ Heath, Jerry Iger

arrow_right_sm Live From SDCC '09: The Eisners! CLICK TO SEE ALL OF OUR SDCC ’09 POSTINGS!

Questions? Comments? Post them below!

You may also like

Leave a Reply