John Stanisci and Emma Kubert’s FOUNDLINGS to feature variant covers

by Charles LePage

The story inspired by a personal journey and a search for family, FOUNDLINGS, approaches its Kickstarter goal with a new variant available in two versions, including a Bleeding Cool exclusive.

a98d6bbf-7d14-4eb3-bc42-fa3ea9adea41 John Stanisci and Emma Kubert's FOUNDLINGS to feature variant covers

The press release follows:

Media Release — New York-based writer and artist John Stanisci (Batman Beyond) and buzzworthy artist Emma Kubert (Inkblot, Image Comics) have teamed together to create Foundlings, a brand new dystopian young adult comic book series in the vein of Stranger Things and The Goonies, tackling issues of abandonment among a diverse cast of children. The series follows a group of children cast aside by their families and society…until they were possibly the only ones capable of saving it. Funding exclusively on Kickstarter, and if successful, planned for a full graphic novel, Foundlings is a timely story tackling themes of global politics, ableism and more in a story that will keep readers on immersed for 28 pages.

Writer John Stanisci says “We are so excited! It’s barely two weeks into the campaign and we are already at the 70% mark! I want to thank everyone who has already supported us! We still have three weeks to go so we can’t wait for more people to discover Foundlings!”

Years in the future, a virus has been weaponized by a Russian government hell-bent on destroying America from within. This deadly new strain has been perfected to kill within 24 hours of contact, and only small groups of children carry an immunity to the effects. They are the Foundlings; a diverse group of children under the age of 16, who alone carry the hope for a possible cure, and a solution to extinction.

Artist and Co-creator Emma Kubert echoes “Thank you all so much for the support! We are almost to our goal, and we are so excited for you all to read our sci-fi adventure. Everyone can relate to Foundlings, and we are ready for you all to dive into the world!”

Foundlings centers around one very special group of kids, all who still dream of the families that long ago abandoned them, and instead find family in each other in order to survive and find a way to save the Earth from destruction. The story is inspired by The Foundlings Hospital in New York City, which is a real-life home to children, many of whom are challenged with physical and emotional issues. The story is rich with themes of empowerment and inspiration for teenagers and adults alike, in a fun adventure story that recalls some of the most beloved films and television series.

Funding exclusively through this Kickstarter campaign is a self-contained comic book story, published in a 28 page, full-color comic format, written by John Stanisci, and drawn by Emma Kubert, with three covers available. For more information on perks offered, visit the campaign page: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/punkhouse/foundlings-a-new-comic-from-john-stanisci-and-emma-kubert

About the Creators:

John Stanisci is New York Times best selling artist and writer for DC, Marvel and IDW Comics having drawn such characters as Spider-Man, Batman, Constantine, Justice League Dark, Judge Dredd, X Files and many more. In 2011, John’s book for DC Comics, Batman Beyond: Hush Beyond, premiered at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list for graphic novels. John’s original graphic novel, Lifedeath, is in development for entertainment. John’s published work has appeared throughout the world in many countries including Germany, England, France and others. John is also a Broadway/Off Broadway playwright, actor and producer. John’s original plays have been named as finalists for the prestigious Woodward/Newman Award for drama as well as the Eugene O’Neil Playwrights Conference and others. www.johnstanisci.com

7dcd582c-4147-468f-849a-8c03cd128ebf John Stanisci and Emma Kubert's FOUNDLINGS to feature variant covers

Emma Kubert is a freelance comic book artist, writer and graduate of the Kubert School (2018). She has freelanced for various companies such as DC Entertainment, Dynamite Entertainment, 20th Century Fox, and Image Comics. Emma recently penciled, inked and colored for DC Entertainments’ DC SUPERHERO GIRLS and TEEN TITANS GO!, and drew layouts for the company’s young adult graphic novel RAVEN. She is currently working on her Image Comics’ creator-owned series INKBLOT with Rusty Gladd and developing sci-fi fantasy FOUNDLINGS with John Stanisci.

731bc1c1-7ade-4450-8dff-e0540d7920b2 John Stanisci and Emma Kubert's FOUNDLINGS to feature variant covers

You may also like

Leave a Reply