Johanna Stokes’ STATION Launches This June

by Jeff

April 24th, 2008 (Los Angeles, CA) — Two hundred and twenty miles doesn’t seem that far unless you’re looking down. Five nations have come together to build the crowning achievement in space travel, but now one astronaut is dead. Is it sabotage? An accident? Or murder? Find out in BOOM!’s new mini-series, STATION!

A thriller in the vein of WHITEOUT, STATION is the creation of Johanna Stokes, writer of the EUREKA TV episodes “Right as Raynes” and “Purple Haze,” with art by newcomer Leno Carvalho. A 4-issue monthly mini-series beginning this June, STATION explores murder at the extreme edges of the earth.

Bringing a Hitchcockian level of suspense little-seen in the comics medium, STATION puts a new twist on the classic “locked room” murder mystery, focusing on space tourist Dyson as he tries to find out why one of his crewmates is dead, who killed him, and why.

“Johanna always amazes me with her versatility as a writer,” said BOOM! Studios Editor-in-Chief Mark Waid. “STATION shows a whole new side to her talent. The action is great. The suspense is great. This is going be a must-buy for both comic and mystery fans everywhere!”

Stokes is familiar to fans of BOOM! Studios’ work, having written MR. STUFFINS, DEATH VALLEY, and SAVAGE BROTHERS. Stokes has also contributed to BOOM!’s anthology books PIRATE TALES, ZOMBIE TALES, and CTHULHU TALES.

With STATION, Stokes takes the “locked room” thriller to new heights, playing on the classic conventions of mystery while infusing the narrative with a great cast of characters and the intrigue of the stars.

“I’m thrilled to hear the fan praise and glad that readers are giving me a chance,” Stokes said. “And I’m also glad that I’ve found a place that will let me tell the stories I want to tell. STATION will live up to the hype.”

STATION #1 features cover art by Leno Carvalho, item order code: APR083635.

STATION_001 Johanna Stokes' STATION Launches This JuneSTATION_001-1 Johanna Stokes' STATION Launches This JuneSTATION_001-2 Johanna Stokes' STATION Launches This JuneSTATION_001-3 Johanna Stokes' STATION Launches This June

You may also like

Leave a Reply