J. Torres and Sean Dove return the BROBOTS to Oni Press

by Jeff

ec7d5fe4-9085-4ca4-beb0-6862071895e1 J. Torres and Sean Dove return the BROBOTS to Oni PressMedia Release — Oni Press, Portland’s premier independent comic book publisher, is excited the announce the return of the world’s most adorable robo-compadres in BROBOTS, VOLUME 2: BROBOTS AND THE MECHA MALARKEY! Created by J. Torres (Teen Titans Go!, The Mighty Zodiac), and Sean Dove (The Last Days of Danger, Fried Rice), the award-winning BroBots are back in another mecha action meet Mother Good mash-up! This time they’re up against the Semisweet ChocoWitch of Crime Brûlée Mountain and her crumby criminal cohorts.

Read more about the series in ComicsAlliance’s interview with J. Torres and Sean Dove!

BroBots, Volume Two will be available in comic book shops and ComiXology on August 9, 2017, and in bookstores on August 22, 2017. BroBots, Volume Two will solicit in the April for June PREVIEWS catalog, in comic book shops Wednesday, March 29.

BROBOTS, VOLUME 2: BROBOTS AND THE MECHA MALARKEY
Writer: J. Torres
Artist/Colorist/Cover Artist: Sean Dove
ISBN: 978-1-62010-424-8
In Comic Shops: 8/9/17
Age Rating: All Ages Genre: Action, Adventure
Price: $12.99 Page Count: 40 Format: Hardcover, color

The BroBots are back in another mecha action meets Mother Goose mash-up! This time they’re up against the Semisweet ChocoWitch of Crime Brûlée Mountain and her crumby criminal cohorts. Take a half cup of Power Rangers with a tablespoon of Powerpuff Girls and add a dash of Voltron for a recipe we’re calling “BroBots and the Mecha Malarkey”!

Praise for BROBOTS

A Parents’ Choice Fun Stuff Award Winner, Fall 2016

“Torres’ high-energy concept is exceptionally easy to dive into and cleverly plays with the manga genre, making it an excellent read for a gradeschooler. […] Dove’s brightly colored artwork has the absurd cartoon quality of an Adventure Time episode, with hammy smiles and blocky character design. Coupled with energetic storytelling, it’s a combination sure to lure in young readers.” Booklist

“With bright bold graphics, the BroBots’ battle is a vivid and fun one. Sean Dove fuses the Japanese art of Kaiju (the genre that gave us iconic monsters like Godzilla) with robot anime, and throws in a dash of old-school fairy tale. […] The end result is a dazzling rock-em sock-em giant-slaying romp. Both clever and silly, this short but packed comic is guaranteed to get a laugh. Striking art and playful words make it an enjoyable read.” Parents’ Choice Foundation

“Fans of Voltron and Transformers will enjoy this cute, funny take on the genre, featuring three wisecracking robot brothers who team up to fight a giant that threatens their city. […] it’s a fun book for an adult to read aloud or for a child to read alone.” School Library Journal’s Good Comics for Kids

“[…] a cute and fun-looking all-ages comic about robots, mechas and giant monsters[…]” ComicsAlliance

“[…] [BroBots] seems to be throwing back to several eighties/nineties kids’ show trends. It could be most accurately described as a sort of mashup of Power Rangers and the original Powerpuff Girls: lots of action combined a general goofiness and sense of self-awareness that made the Cartoon Cartoons beloved by kids and adults.” NerdSpan

“This is a really great book. So fun. What did you think?” Skottie Young (The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, Giant-Size Little Marvel)

“I loved it, Bro!” Baxter Young (Seven-year-old son of that Skottie guy)

Oni Press is a premier comic book and graphic novel publisher located in Portland, Oregon. Founded in 1997, Oni Press is run by Founder and Publisher Joe Nozemack and Editor-in-Chief James Lucas Jones. Oni Press’s curated line includes a variety of best-selling, award-winning, original and licensed comic books and graphic novels, including: [adult swim]’s Rick and Morty, Nickelodeon’s Invader ZIM, Scott Pilgrim, Queen & Country, Courtney Crumrin, Wasteland, The Sixth Gun, Stumptown, Wet Moon, Letter 44, The Bunker, The Life After, The Coldest City, and Kaijumax.

ec7d5fe4-9085-4ca4-beb0-6862071895e1 J. Torres and Sean Dove return the BROBOTS to Oni Press

You may also like

Leave a Reply