Ignatz Award Nominations for 2013

by Jeff

logo_ignatz Ignatz Award Nominations for 2013Media Release — The Small Press Expo is inestimably proud to announce the 2013 nominations for our annual awards for excellence in independent comics, the Ignatz. Congratulations to all our nominees!

About the Award
The Ignatz Award, named for the character in the classic comic strip Krazy Kat by George Herriman, is the festival prize of the Small Press Expo, that since 1997 has recognized outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning. The ballot is created by a panel of five cartoonists and is voted on by the attendees of the SPX festival.

The 2013 Ignatz Jury
This year the Ignatz jury was composed of: Lisa Hanawalt, Dustin Harbin, Damien Jay, Sakura Maku and Jason Shiga. Our thanks to all the 2013 jurors for their time and service – with a 70% increase in nomination submissions this year, the jury members truly went above and beyond the call of duty.

Voting & Ceremony Attendance
Please join us at SPX 2013 on Saturday September 14th to cast your vote. Award recipients will be announced at a ceremony on Saturday evening to be hosted by special guest, Liza Donnelly. The Ignatz Awards ceremony is open to the public, with a reception to follow. Media is welcome to attend.

This year the Ignatz Awards gala ceremony will be sponsored by our friends at comiXology and their self-publishing portal: Submit.

Now, to business!

Outstanding Artist
Lilli Carre for Heads or Tails
Michael DeForge for Lose #4
Miriam Katin for Letting It Go
Ulli Lust for Today is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life
Patrick McEown for Hair Shirt

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
Freddie Stories by Lynda Barry
Heads or Tails by Lille Carré
Peter Bagge’s Other Stuff by Peter Bagge
Stark #1 by Tusen Hjartan
Very Casual by Michael DeForge

Outstanding Graphic Novel
The Property by Rutu Modan
Susceptible by Genevieve Castree
Today is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life by Ulli Lust
When David Lost His Voice by Judith Vanistendael
You’ll Never Know Vol. 3: A Soldier’s Heart by Carol Tyler

Outstanding Story
“Arid” (Secret Prison #7) by Tom Hart
Birdseye Bristoe by Dan Zettwoch
“The Carnival” (Heads or Tails) by Lilli Carre
Gold Star by John Martz
“Neighbors” (Stark #1) by Joanna Hellgren

Promising New Talent
Sam Alden for Hawaii 1997 & Haunter
Nathan Bulmer for Eat More Bikes
Philippa Rice for Looking Out
Diana Thung for August Moon
Angie Wang for “The Teacup Tree” (Secret Prison #7)

Outstanding Series
The Hive by Charles Burns
Lose by Michael DeForge
Madtown High by Whit Taylor
Pope Hats by Ethan Rilly
Prison Pit by Johnny Ryan

Outstanding Comic
Hyperspeed to Nowhere 2: Return to Entropy by Lale Westvind
The Life Problem by Austin English
Looking Out by Philippa Rice
Pope Hats #3 by Ethan Rilly
St. Owl’s Bay by Simon Hanselmann

Outstanding Minicomic
The End of the Fucking World: Part 16 by Charles Forsman
Il Cammino Delle Capre by Kris Mukai and Zachary Zezima
Hawaii 1997 by Sam Alden
Layaway by Joseph Lambert
Powdered Milk Vol. 10: The Man Who Could Not Read by Keiler Roberts

Outstanding Online Comic
Bird Boy by Annie Szabla
Haunter by Sam Alden
Gabby’s Playhouse – Ken Dahl/Gabby Schulz
July Diary by Gabrielle Bell
SuperMutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: