ComicList Preview: THE SIXTH GUN #48

by Jeff

681637_320 ComicList Preview: THE SIXTH GUN #48Media Release — The Six have been used to break the seals that hold back armageddon. A final confrontation awaits Drake Sinclair, Becky Montcrief on the legendary battleground of Boot Hill. The end is nigh, and the epic conclusion to The Sixth Gun starts here!

THE SIXTH GUN #48
(W) Cullen Bunn
(A/CA) Brian Hurtt
(C) Bill Crabtree
Age Range: 13 and up
Genre: Western, Fantasy
Price: $3.99

Why It’s Neat:

It’s the beginning of the end—”Boot Hill”, the final arc of the critically-acclaimed Harvey, Ignatz, and Eisner Award-nominated supernatural western saga.
It’s never too late to jump onto a series; The Sixth Gun is perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, Hellboy, and the works of H.P. Lovecraft.
Artist Bill Crabtree and colorist Brian Hurtt create artistic masterpieces on each and every page, creating entirely new worlds with Cullen Bunn’s mythos.
Fans of Firefly and True Grit will love the fierce Becky Montcrief, who literally takes fate in her own hands and pulls the trigger in the explosive end.

What the creators have to say:

Writer Cullen Bunn says,”It might be easy to assume that Becky is a damsel in distress. In fact, we kind of wanted readers to see her in that light at first. But we really always saw Becky as the star of the series. We wanted to show her growth from humble beginnings. In the first arc, she’s being rescued by Drake, but later in the series, she’s the one who is doing the rescues!”
Artist Brian Hurtt says, “I feel like The Sixth Gun is my best work to date, not because I’m a better artist, but because I have a real love for the material.”

What people are saying:

“The Sixth Gun is so fun it feels like it was discovered, not created.” Kelly Sue DeConnick (Bitch Planet, Pretty Deadly)
“You only wish your favourite weird TV show was this much fun.” Warren Ellis (Transmetropolitan, Injection)
“An absolute winner in every way.” Jason Aaron (Southern Bastards, Star Wars)
“The Sixth Gun is totally unique, beautiful to look at and an all-around terrific read.” Rick Remender (Deadly Class, Low)
“As a reader, I love it. As a creator, I give my highest compliment: it makes me bitterly jealous. Long may it make me seethe.” Kieron Gillen (The Wicked + The Divine, Star Wars: Darth Vader)
“OH ****! This is a western, a supernatural western with a MAGICAL GIRL! Like, why the **** hasn’t anyone told me THIS about the book?!” The Outhouse’s “View from the Gutters” podcast
9.5 OUT OF 10 REVIEW: “The Sixth Gun—and all of its branching stories—has been one of the most intriguing comic series released in the past few years. The Old West style combined with supernatural elements and pure weirdness has differentiated The Sixth Gun from other comic series and become the best example of this newer genre. ” We the Nerdy
9 OUT OF 10 REVIEW: “This story is big, bold, brash and explosive, with Bunn and Hurtt quite literally tearing a world apart and preparing for God knows what to unleash itself.” Comicosity
4.5 OUT OF 5 REVIEW: “[…] this supernatural thriller is expertly produced in every form.” Forces of Geek
4 OUT OF 5 REVIEW: “It is one of the best fantasy stories that is being published today.” Comic Bastards

THE SIXTH GUN #48

You may also like

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: