BOOM! Studios receives seven 2018 Eisner Award nominations

by Jeff

may171238 BOOM! Studios receives seven 2018 Eisner Award nominationsMedia Release — BOOM! Studios is proud to announce it has received seven total nominations in the 2018 Eisner Awards, honoring the best in the comic book industry. This includes six nominations for BOOM! Studios releases including nominations for each of its diverse imprints – BOOM! Studios, BOOM! Box, KaBOOM! & Archaia – along with one shared nomination for Grass Kings writer Matt Kindt.

The full list of nominated comics and talent are below:

  • Best Writer: Matt Kindt, Grass Kings (BOOM! Studios); Ether (Dark Horse); Eternity, X-O Manowar (Valiant)
  • Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: Ramón K. Pérez, Jane (Archaia)
  • Best Continuing Series: Giant Days, by John Allison, Max Sarin, and Liz Fleming (BOOM! Box)
  • Best New Series: Grass Kings, by Matt Kindt and Tyler Jenkins (BOOM! Studios)
  • Best Short Story: “Forgotten Princess,” by Phillip Kennedy Johnson and Antonio Sandoval, in Adventure Time Comics #13 (KaBOOM!)
  • Best Publication for Kids: Bolivar, by Sean Rubin (Archaia)
  • Best Publication for Teens: Jane, by Aline Brosh McKenna and Ramón K. Pérez (Archaia)

“BOOM! Studios is honored to receive nominations for such a broad array of our top comics in 2017,” said Matt Gagnon, Editor-in-Chief, BOOM! Studios. “Each of the books nominated embodies our company’s commitment to the belief that comics are for anyone, so we make them for everyone. Congratulations to all the nominees from BOOM! Studios and our friends across the industry.”

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are presented under the auspices of Comic-Con International, a nonprofit educational organization dedicated to creating awareness of and appreciation for comics and related popular artforms, primarily through the presentation of conventions and events that celebrate the historic and ongoing contributions of comics to art and culture.

The Eisner Awards will be presented at a gala awards ceremony to be held on July 20 at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel. A full list of nominees can be found at the Eisner Award website.

For continuing news on BOOM! Studios, stay tuned to and follow @boomstudios on Twitter.

About BOOM! Studios
BOOM! Studios was founded by Ross Richie in 2005 with the singular focus of creating world-class comic book and graphic novel storytelling for all audiences. Through the development of four distinct imprints—BOOM! Studios, BOOM! Box, KaBOOM!, and Archaia—BOOM! has produced award-winning original work, including Lumberjanes, The Woods, Giant Days, Klaus, and Mouse Guard, while also breaking new ground with established licenses such as WWE, Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Cartoon Network, and The Jim Henson Company properties. BOOM! will also bring their original series to life through unique first-look relationships with 20th Century Fox for film and with 20th Television for the small screen. Please visit for more information.

Twitter: @boomstudios
Facebook: @BOOMStudiosComics
Instagram: @boom_studios

You may also like

Leave a Reply