2010 Spirit of Comics Retailer Award nominees announced

by Jeff

eisners_spirit_logo 2010 Spirit of Comics Retailer Award nominees announcedMedia Release — Nominees for the prestigious Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award (The Eisner Spirit Award) have been announced by Comic-Con International (Comic-Con), the largest comic book and popular arts event in the United States.

Since 1993, The Eisner Spirit Award has been presented to an individual retailer performing an outstanding job of supporting the comics art medium both in the community and within the industry at large. Any retailer established in business for at least two years is eligible for nomination, and retailers, professionals, or fans may place a name in nomination. A panel of industry judges select a group of finalists to be subjected to an in-depth examination based on award criteria.

These criteria include:
Support of a wide variety of innovative material: Providing opportunities for creators’ material to reach buyers; stocking a diverse inventory.

Knowledge: Working to stay informed on retailing as well as on the comics field.

Community activity: Promoting comics to the community; maintaining relationships with schools and libraries; keeping active in social, business, and arts community organizations.

Quality of store image: Innovative display approaches; using store design creatively.

Adherence to standard ethical business practices.

This years nominees are:

A Comic Shop
Aaron Hoaland & Jason Blanchard
Winter Park, FL

Acme Comics
Jermaine Exum & Mark Austin
Greensboro, NC

Mike D’Elia
Albuquerque, NM

Atomic Comics
Mike Malve
Chandler, AZ

Challengers Comics and Conversions
Patrick Brower and W. Dal Bush
Chicago, IL

Comic Book Ink
John & Sarah Munn
Tacoma, WA

Comic Bug
Mike Wellman & Jun Goeku
Manhattan Beach, CA

The Comic Vault
Matthew Sardo
Chicago, IL

Comics & Vegetables
Yuval Sharon, Danny Amitai (was misspelled Danny Amital in the press release)
Tel-Aviv, Israel

The Dragon
Jennifer Stewart
Guelph, Ontario, Canada

Dragon’s Lair Comics & Fantasy
David Wheeler
Austin, TX

Green Brain Comics
Katie & Dan Merritt
Dearborn, MI

Lightning Comics
Tim Boal
Coeur d’Alene, ID

Not Just Comix
David Easter
Park Hills, MO

Packrat Comics
Jamie and Teresa Colegrove
Hillard, OH

Rick & Maritza Keefe
Tucson, AZ

Travelling Man
Nabil Homsi
Manchester, England, UK

Up Up & Away
Kendall Swafford
Cincinnati, OH

Vault of Midnight
Curtis Sullivan & Steve Fodale
Ann Arbor, MI

Warp 1 Comics and Games
Dave Bryenton & James Steer
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Past winners are not eligible for nomination.

The Eisner Spirit Awards are part of, and underwritten by, Comic-Con International: San Diego, a nonprofit educational organization dedicated to creating awareness of and appreciation for comics and related popular art forms, primarily through the presentation of conventions and events that celebrate the historic and ongoing contributions of comics to art and culture.

More information about Comic-Con can be found at http://www.comic-con.org

You may also like

Leave a Reply